The Top 5 Lucid Dreaming myths


For as long as I’ve been teaching people how to lucid dream, I’ve encountered people who hold some (or all) of these common misconceptions about it.

In the interests of education and public service I’m here to clear them up. Discovering how to lucid dream is easy, fun and once you experience for yourself how enjoyable it is, I guarantee you’ll be wishing you’d known about it sooner.

Myth #1: “Learning how to lucid dream is hard.”

This is definitely the most common misconception I find. Learning how to lucid dream is easy. So easy, in fact, that more likely than not you already know how to do it.

Myth #2: “Lucid dreaming is just some weird new-age thing.”

Far from being a recent phenomenon, lucid dreaming has been known about and practiced in one form or another for many centuries.

Myth #3: “I don’t remember my dreams, so I’ll never be able to lucid dream.”

Another very common reason people give for why not experimenting with lucid dreaming is their inability to recall dreams. Dream recall needs conscious focus. Most people don’t recall their dreams.

More importantly, the ability to recall dreams is not a requirement for lucid dreaming. It’s merely one of many suggested starting points.

how to lucid dream
M.C. Escher – “Another World”

Myth #4: “It’s probably not that much fun // worth all the effort”

It’s also common for people dismiss lucid dreaming as a waste of time. Going to great lengths to learn how to lucid dream in order to spend a couple of minutes flying probably does seem like a waste of time – if you’ve never had a lucid dream before. Once people have experienced full consciousness inside a dream state they regularly report it to be far superior to any waking-life experience or mind-altering drug available.

Myth #5: “It takes too long to master”

The final barrier for most people is the mistaken belief that discovering how to lucid dream takes months – a commitment that many are unwilling or unable to make. Even for the raw novice it is possible to achieve a lucid dream in a mere of 3-7 attempts. Some people can even do it on their first attempt!


If you don’t believe me, see for yourself. Get started now with the lucid dreaming kit!

Technorati tags:

|| ||

5 Responses to The Top 5 Lucid Dreaming myths

  1. anonymum says:

    I Stumbled onto your site and just thought I’d let you know, I lucid dream naturally and always have…it just happens…I only found out it had a name about 6 months ago…
    cheers
    Maureen

  2. Lucid dreaming is definitely fun and exciting–in fact sometimes it’s so exciting it wakes me up. I love it. (Haven’t done it lately though.)

  3. Nathan says:

    Learning how to lucid dream is hard? Lol, I started lucid dreaming as a small child. It does however take practice and skill to be able to fly at super fast speeds without waking up!

  4. Bill D says:

    I’ve been lucid dreaming my entire life. I recall telling my mother that I just “change the channel” when I start having a dream I don’t like. I was 3 when I told her this. I can also fly, move huge objects, stop bullets, remove objects or people at will, and change dreams entirely. I suppose the key is that I’ve always been fully aware that I’m creating the dream myself. I think of my dreams as an extension of my imagination. I actually thought everyone could do this until adulthood, when I ran across instructional books on the topic. Then I asked around and discovered nobody I knew could do it. I guess it’s one more blessing I need to acknowledge in my life.

  5. [...] βρήκα και ένα post στο howtoluciddream.wordpress.com με το οποίο διαφωνώ σε πολλά σημεία και συμφωνώ σε [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

